View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:17 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 2008 Zuma 49cc dies at WOT 
Newb
Newb

scooters and mods: 2008 Zuma 50c, Carb Mod and Pirate Decals. Arrg!
Post 2008 Zuma 49cc dies at WOT
Hi, Newbie here... Just purchased a 2008 Zuma 50 with 975 original miles. I did a .5 mile test drive and scooter ran fine so I bought it. Took it home and immediately did the carb mod right away. Definitely improved the speed! I took it on about a 5 minute ride at about 3/4 throttle with bursts at WOT on some higher speed roads I had to cross. That's when the engine will abruptly stop. It actually skidded the tire for a second. I thought I broke the drive belt or something, but when I started it again on the side of the road, it did fire up and ran, but with low power. It did get me home-slowly. After resting it for awhile I can get on it and it runs perfect with no problem for about 5 minutes, and here we go again, same repeatable problem. I'm guessing it's starving for fuel and I saw in a post that the petcock may be a probable cause? Anyone have experience with this? I'm going to keep reading in the meantime, but thanks for any experience out there helping me get it running at WOT again! Patrick

Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:59 pm
Silver Member
Silver Member

scooters and mods: 2 2004 Vinos 2004 Zuma
Post Re: 2008 Zuma 49cc dies at WOT
The engine stopping like you describe sounds like a soft seize .
The piston is expanding because of over heating and sticking in the cylinder.

Lets check the Usual culprits first.
You may have a air leak causing you to run real lean or your main jet is undersized or plugged causing you to run lean
To check for a exhaust leak
Start the bike let it idle take a gloved hand with a rag and put your hand over the exhaust pipe opening and if the bike shuts off immediately the exhaust is good if it keeps running you need to reseal the exhaust gasket.
carb tuning
Do you have a stock airbox ?